A little bit of a long day today….

We are having a bit of a long…. and tiring day today.

The main reason for this is Juli didn’t sleep much last night.  She fell asleep sometime between 10-11pm on my lap as she always does. I was probably snoozing when she did as I don’t remember her falling asleep.  It was a busy afternoon and I was exhausted after everything we did. I thought she would be too, but no. Still took her about 3 hours to fall asleep and I won the race.

I woke up around 11:30pm and put her in her bed and tucked her in. Then I did a few of my things including take a shower and relax for a bit. She woke up in the middle of the night around 2:30am like she usually does and came into my room. I figured she would just climb up onto the bed and be sound asleep again in a few seconds.

Think again.

She saw the tv on the table and remembered everything we had done and right away she remembered we had to ask daddy if he liked it.  Thing is she had already asked him that very same thing a few times after he got home.  And now here she was at 2:30am in the morning focusing on the table and that was all it took to wake her up and when she wakes up it is as if her body has just had a nice long nap and she is now wide awake. She can’t go back to sleep.

She was up for the next 4 hours and so was I. Barely. I was awake, but I can’t say I was conscious.  People who know me well know that I’m a night owl. I’m always up at night. But I have my limits too and when I am tired I want to go to sleep. Last night I was tired and I couldn’t.

I tried from 2:30am to 6:00am to get her to fall asleep. Reading her books and putting on relaxing shows. Relaxing with her (while trying to stay awake myself lol).  Finally around 6:30am she fell asleep. About an hour before I have to get her up and ready for school.

I talked to Jean-Pierre a few minutes later, before he left for work, and we agreed that we aren’t going to wake her up after an hour and send her to school with only a total of about 4 hours sleep.  I really don’t even count that last hour at that moment as part of it either.

So decision made she is staying home from school and catching up on sleep.

Now of course, I am awake so I relax a bit and get a few things done. By the time I started getting tired she was starting to wake up. I climbed into bed and sure enough she woke up. I relaxed a bit and snoozed a bit while she read books, watched her shows and talked to me. I didn’t really get sleep though :(. So I am doing this day on pretty much an all nighter.  Been a little while since I have done this.

I usually manage to get a few hours sleep. I can go through the day pretty decently on 4 hours sleep, but less than that and I feel it… like I am am now.

Now I am trying to get through the day and only doing what I need to.

Although knowing me, since I am a night owl, the minute that I put her to bed tonight and I can fall asleep, I will end up being wide awake and wanting to do things lol….

One thought on “A little bit of a long day today….

Leave a Reply

