My daughter, the rcmp officer lol…

2014-06-05 13.28.42Juli may be as cute as a kitten :), but she has been affectionately nicknamed, by one of my best friends and her hubby, as an rcmp officer lol…

This is because of all of the questions that she has a tendency to ask. Basically if she is awake, she is asking questions.  And quite often the first one isn’t completely out of her mouth before the next one is working it’s way out lol.

Now please don’t get me wrong – being curious and asking questions is good, but Juli takes it to the major extreme.  16 hours a day major extreme…

This has to do with her attachment and autism issues.  She will ask you everything from why you are wearing the color shirt you are wearing to why you are eating what you are eating to why you are where you are to why you are standing or sitting…

She will ask you everything and more… all the time…everyday.

This is going to be one of the things that we work on with her RDI therapy when it resumes again.

I am looking forward to this as it can get very tiring constantly talking all day and answering question after question. I am happy that she wants to learn, but this is not like an average child’s curiosity.

This is an autism characteristic where she has to think and process everything out loud. Her brain isn’t capable of doing this right now :(. We are not sure if it ever will be…

It is almost as if for her if she isn’t speaking then she isn’t involved or a part of what is going on. And she NEEDS to feel included.

And if you don’t answer the questions she won’t forget about them. She will get scared or frustrated as to why you are not answering and she will lose emotional control.  This then becomes worse than not answering the question in the first place.

Imagine trying to get done everything you need to do in a day while constantly and non-stop answering questions while focusing on what they are… That is my life right now. I try and get through my day and get everything I need to get done done while trying to listen and focus on everything Juli is asking me.

I already am having a hard time focusing and doing a lot. I was recently diagnosed with Asperger’s (a form of autism) and ADHD and it is really hindering my life for the past while.  I can’t remember things well and I can’t do a lot. Also my brain can’t handle too many things before I feel  very overloaded and just shut down.

And trust me having an “rcmp officer” following me around makes it a bit more challenging lol…

I’m looking forward to our RDI therapy starting again.

It is going to be a lot of work and really hard on me (I’ll explain that in another post), but it needs to be done and it is going to be better on the other side. For Juli and hopefully for me…

Leave a Reply

