Spoiled me or Crazy system….?

I think I’ve gotten a bit spoiled inside the private system. Or is the way it is the in the private system the way it should be and the public system is just crazy and letting us down :(??

I’ve been going through the private system for Juli’s therapies and for my psychologist, but now my family doctor wants me to see a psychiatrist because, and rightfully so, she doesn’t feel comfortable giving me a prescription to help control my anxiety.

I have found out the hard way that there are not many – if any- psychiatrists available in the private system so I have to go the public route for this.  Wow, what a difference!

For my psychologist I can call/text/email and have an appt within a few days to pretty much any date I need after that….. not so with the public system :(.

With the public system I had to fax my referral into the doctors office so they could call me back to give me an appt. Just faxing it in alone took a few days as the fax line was always busy.  The call back then took aprox 24-48 hours and I am given an appt 3.5 months from that date. Yikes.

Supposedly this is normal – even really good – for the public system. I’ve been told that sometimes the wait time could be up to 6 months.

Wow, as I said, I’m not sure if I have been spoiled in the private system or if the private system is how it really should be and the public system is just out of control backed up and behind :(.

At least I now have the appt for the end of March and that is a step closer to feeling better and getting my life under control than I was before.  For that I am very happy.

I have my psychologist until then to help me to learn to understand myself better as I go along and help me with the rough moments – which right now seem to be many…

But at least I am working on one thing and that is to try and explain what is going on inside of me more to my hubby so that he can try and understand me as I’m on the journey of learning about me.

Leave a Reply

